Home General News Meet the four contesting the Ayawaso West Wuogon By-election

Meet the four contesting the Ayawaso West Wuogon By-election


The vacant Ayawaso west Wuogon parliamentary seat is up for grabs and a by election scheduled for 31st January will tell us who gets to win.

The seat, previously occupied by the New Patriotic Party’s Emmanuel Kyeremateng Agyarko, whose demise opened the door for a constitutionally mandated by-election, is being contested by four parties. The new Patriotic party NPP, National Democratic Congress NDC, Progressive People’s party PPP and Liberal Party of Ghana LPG.

READ ALSO: Death of E.K Agyarko and Ayawaso West Wuogon matters

The candidates

1. Lydia Seyram Alhassan NPP – Number 4 on the ballot paper, she is the wife of the late Member of parliament for the same constituency and is expected to retain the seat for NPP. Her team and the national executives of the party have been campaigning aggressively and it is widely expected she will ease pass the other contenders as the seat is NPP’S to loose.

2. Delali Kwesi Brempong NDC – The NDC’s representative for the upcoming elections lost to the late member of parliament in the 2016 election. Will he be able to outdo his widow this time around?, we live to see. He is Number 1 on the ballot paper.

3. William Kofi Dowokpor PPP – He is number 2 on the ballot Paper. PPP has been third favorite in almost every election since it’s inception and by all accounts are not capable of winning the seat but it will be a great show of presence to battle the giants on the same battlefield. Who knows, the people of Ayawaso West Wuogon may pull a surprise. Anything is possible. Awake!!!

4. Clement Boadi LPG – Liberal Party of Ghana is a relatively unknown party in the Ghanaian political spheres yet Mr. Boadi is poised to make it known by virtue of contesting this election. It will be a shock if the party makes much gain but as has been said, anything is possible. The dynamics involved in influencing voter support is way too diverse to write anyone off. He is number 3 9n the ballot paper.

Nsemwoha shall be there to cover the entire election and watch this space for updates. We wish all candidates goodluck and may the best candidate win.

Source: Nsemwoha.com

Previous articleWendy Shay Set To Dump Rufftown Records For A New Label?
Next articleA Plus to attend court hearing today for Dafamation claim by Ursula Owusu